

School Traffic Safety Committee

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

To: City of Seattle Hearing Examiner

We are writing to express support for the current construction plan of Alki Elementary school.

The Seattle School Traffic Safety Committee was created in 1975 to connect the pieces of the mosaic of entities involved in creating and providing safe routes to school. The Committee includes representatives of public agencies and volunteer community members. This letter is on behalf of the volunteer members.

As a part of the planning process for the school construction in Seattle, Seattle Public Schools (SPS) presents their site plan to the committee to solicit feedback from committee members, including the Seattle Department of Transportation (SDOT) and Seattle Police Department (SPD) representatives, regarding traffic safety of students, staff, and other community members who will be traveling to the school. The site plan for Alki Elementary received the approval of the committee as well as of the Seattle Department of Construction and Inspections.

The prolonged appeal process so far cost taxpayers over 3 million dollars in construction and design costs alone, with an estimated total cost overrun of over 6 million dollars for SPS alone. Even though the school's size was set in response to long-term population projections and based on best practices, and despite two separate traffic impact studies having been conducted, the current appeal continues to halt the planning and construction process.

As an inter-agency committee created by the City to review and address traffic safety concerns for Seattle schools, we are confident that the departures approved by the City along with the revised site plan that includes additional on-site parking will meet the needs of the school and the surrounding community. We strongly encourage the Hearing Examiner to allow SPS to move forward with the current plan as it will best serve the interests of the students, the local community, and the Seattle taxpayers as a whole.

Sincerely, Ryan Baum Noa Guter, chair Marylin Friman Margaret McCauley Kelsy Rote Mary Ellen Russel